Skip to content

Healthcare and Genre Lines

July 2, 2007

I was reading an interview of Robert J. Sawyer by John Scalzi and I found two things that he said to be of particular interest.

The first thing was that Canada has a disproportionate number of Science Fiction authors.  In essence, he said that one of the major factors for this was the health care in Canada, basically, its a lot easier to write for a living when you don’t have to worry about whether your family will be able to see a doctor.

The second thing was that Canadian publishers don’t distinguish between genres and mainstream fiction as much as the ones here (in the States) do.  The reason that I found this interesting is that when I was up in Alberta last week, my relatives, to a one, thought that it was awesome that I wanted to write Science Fiction.

In other news, I am on the verge of finishing with the map for Caldera, which I should have out sometime tomorrow.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2007 8:55 pm

    If you’re back in Alberta in August, the annual science fiction convention, Con-Version 23, is happening on the 17th through the 19th. http://con-version.org

    If you’re in Edmonton in October, Pure Speculation 3 is on October 13 and 14. http://purespec.org/

  2. July 3, 2007 7:38 am

    Thanks for the info. Both of those cons look great, but I probably won’t be back in Alberta this year. Next year, I’ll plan on attending at least one of them.

Leave a Reply

